There are many reasons why you might wish to order a copy of your Washington State collision report. Most important, you’ll want to have a copy if you are filing a claim because you were injured in a car accident and a Washington State patrol officer responded. An officer’s objective, third-party analysis could be valuable evidence of what happened and who may be at fault.
Thankfully, it’s a pretty easy process to request your report. There are three ways you can request your report:
We’ll discuss each of these three ways in this post.
We think that the simplest method to request your report is by doing so online, through the Washington Requests for Electronic Collision Reports (“WRECR”).
Here’s what to do:
You will then be able to download your report. Please note that it can take several days after a collision for the report to appear in the database.
You can also request your collision report by mail.
Here’s what to do:
As with the online report, please be aware that it can take up to 2-4 weeks for a report to be made available after a collision.
Finally, you can visit the Collision Records Section office during normal business hours and request a copy of your report in person, at a kiosk. If you have questions, staff will be able to help you.
The office is located at:
Collision Records Section
Edna Lucile Goodrich Building
7345 Linderson Way SW, first floor
Tumwater, WA 98501
They are open Monday thru Friday, 7am – 4pm. The office is closed on all legal holidays.
If you have a general question, you can reach the collision records office by phone at (360) 570-2355 or email at firstname.lastname@example.org. However, understand that they cannot answer questions about your specific collision over the phone. For that, you will need to request a report in one of the three methods described above.
If you’re searching the database for your Washington State Collision Report and can’t find it, there are two likely reasons:
If it turns out that an officer did not complete a collision report, you might need to file one yourself. By law, if anyone involved in your collision was injured and/or there was property damage over $1,000, someone will need to file a report (see RCW 46.52.030 “Accident Reports”). You can file a report through the WSP website. (We recommend you do this on desktop as the process doesn’t work with all smartphones.)
Your Washington State collision report contains valuable information about what happened. Possible details include:
The report can offer important clues as to who may be at fault for the crash. Identifying who’s at fault is a key step in identifying who’s financially responsible.
After a car accident, you may wonder what steps to take, and in what order. As accident attorneys, here’s what we advise:
Finally, if you’ve been injured in a car accident due to no fault of your own, please give one of our attorneys a call. We may be able to help you file a claim and ensure you get the settlement you deserve.
Often, clients reach out to us only after they’ve run into frustrations with the claims process. These frustrations could range from gathering their collision report to incessant calls from insurance agents. Please, don’t hesitate to reach out to a car accident lawyer as soon as possible!
Here are some of the ways we can help:
Also, it’s free to speak with us about what happened. During this initial review, you can tell you if we think we can help. In fact, we only charge a fee if we’re able to win your case. There’s no risk or obligation, so give us a call.
We look forward to helping you.